Bird Hike at Interstate State Park, Saturday May 9

Robin Maercklein

Field trip leader Robin Maercklein

On Saturday May 9, Biologist Robin Maercklein will lead a bird hike at Wisconsin’s Interstate State Park.

Meet at the Silverbrook Trail head at the group campsite at 7:00 a.m. for a two hour hike.  We will hike approximately 2 miles (one mile out and one mile back.) This annual event has taken place on Saturdays in May for nearly 30 years.  During that time period over 140 species have been observed.  Typically on this date we might observe over 50 species with 62 being the record. See you there!

Posted in No Content | Comments Off on Bird Hike at Interstate State Park, Saturday May 9

Eau Claire’s 2nd Annual “Welcome Back Bird Day” will be on May 20th

In celebration of International Migratory Bird Day, come witness the return of songbirds to Wisconsin from their wintering grounds in the tropics! Join birders and biologists to learn about their incredible journeys northward and view the birds as they arrive in Eau Claire.

Join the fun at five different locations across Eau Claire on Wednesday, May 20th from 7am-7pm.

To learn more details, visit the WBBD webpage.

Posted in No Content | Comments Off on Eau Claire’s 2nd Annual “Welcome Back Bird Day” will be on May 20th

Save the Date: Birds, Bugs, & Blooms Bash, June 5-7

Mark your calendars for the first annual “Birds, Bugs, & Blooms Bash” a three-day nature festival in the Chippewa Valley (sponsored by the Gaylord Nelson Audubon Society). The event will feature more than 30 field trips and presentations by experts, citizens, and enthusiasts. Two keynote presentations on Friday and Saturday nights will be held at UW-Stout’s Memorial Student Center.

For more details visit the website.

Friday Keynote Speaker: Thomas Schultz ­ “The Art of Field Guide Illustration”

Almost everyone who is interested in nature purchases field guides to help them identify what they are seeing. But how many of us think about the work that happens “behind the scenes” to create these books? Thomas Schultz has illustrated a number of bird field guides – including the Peterson Series “Warblers” and the National Geographic’s “Field Guide to the Birds of North America” – and his presentation will shed some light on the creative process.

Saturday Keynote Speaker: Ben Thwaits ­ “Nature as a Therapeutic Place for Healing”

Ben Thwaits works at Northwest Passage which is dedicated to restoring hope through innovative mental health services for children and families. Ben developed a program called “In a New Light” which is a therapeutic nature photography program. In his presentation, Ben will share moving stories and photographs from his students’ inspiring personal journeys and reflect on nature’s capacity to empower, reveal, and heal the human spirit. He’ll consider the fundamental underpinnings of nature’s restorative power, as well as specific techniques for unlocking that power for ourselves and others. This talk will challenge our very definition of nature and its role in our lives, and provide a sharp call to action for translating our understanding of nature’s impact on the human spirit into innovate strategies for a new era of conservation.

Posted in No Content | Comments Off on Save the Date: Birds, Bugs, & Blooms Bash, June 5-7

February 22: GNAS Annual Summit in Menomonie, WI

You are invited to join us as the Gaylord Nelson Audubon Society meets for its Annual Summit to discuss chapter activities, accomplishments, and future plans. Feel free to attend for all or just part of the Summit. New faces are always welcome!

Sunday, February 22, 2015, 1-3:30 pm

UW Stout – Menomonie – Memorial Student Center – Cedar-Maple Room 136
302 10th Avenue East, Menomonie WI  54751 Campus parking lots are free and open on weekends

1:00 Keynote Speaker – Brian Collins
2:15 Break/Social
2:30 Announcements, Business, Elections for President & Treasurer

Keynote Address: Birds of Wisconsin’s Public Wild Lands by Brian M. Collins

Brian collins

Brian Collins in the field on a bird survey.

Brian M. Collins is a contract ornithologist, contributing to a variety of bird community studies for the Wisconsin DNR’s Natural Heritage Inventory and for various lake associations and land trust acquisitions. In the last seven field seasons he has walked over 800 miles of untrailed backcountry in pursuit of bird community data within Wisconsin’s vast and wild tracts of public land.  In more than 1,400 surveys, he has collected data on more than 35,000 individual birds and more than 170 bird species.  Point count work is full of unexpected surprises and exciting discoveries and presents a unique and rugged lifestyle far removed from the routines scripted by research protocol. Brian almost always has a camera in hand, so his adventures are well documented!  Be sure to attend the annual meeting to catch his colorful and bird-rich presentation — and the possibility of a surprise guest!


Posted in No Content | Comments Off on February 22: GNAS Annual Summit in Menomonie, WI